Elisabeth Kulman | Idea, Concept, Voice

Elisabeth Kulman (idea, concept, voice) is one of the leading singers and most outstanding personalities in today’s music world. Educated in Vienna and immersed in its culture, her rich timbre and charisma have captivated audiences worldwide. Initially as soprano, later as mezzo and contralto, she has for the last twenty years performed all the available opera roles for her voice-type but has always relished projects outside the classical mainstream. In “La femme c’est moi” she has succeeded in melding such differing genres as classics, music theatre, French chanson, pop and jazz.

Website Elisabeth Kulman »

Tscho Theissing | Arrangments, Viola, Other Instruments

Tscho Theissing (arrangements, viola and other instruments) is a celebrated arranger, equally at home in transcriptions for symphony orchestra as chamber music, opera or jazz. He has collaborated with a wide range of artists such as Michael Heltau, Georg Breinschmid, Avishai Cohen and the Clarinotts. He spent 25 years as principal second violin of the Vienna Volksoper during which time he also founded the Vienna Theatre Musicians. His passion for jazz and improvisation can be seen is his long commitment to the international Jazz Quartet “pago libre”. “La femme c’est moi” is his third collaboration with Elisabeth Kulman after “Mussorgsky Dis-covered” and ”Hungaro Tune”.

Aliosha Biz | Violin

Aliosha Biz (violin) is widely known for his Klezmer and world music talents. After a classical training in Moscow, he established himself in Vienna in 1989 at the age of nineteen, thereafter making his name as the “Fiddler on the Roof” in Anatevka. His highly individual violin playing and comedic stagecraft have led to partnerships with countless international musicians such as Krzysztof Dobrek (Dobrek Bistro) and Alegre Corrêa as well as theatrical giants like Karl Markovics, Herbert Föttinger and Maria Bill.

Website Aliosha Biz »

Franz Bartolomey | Cello

Franz Bartolomey (cello) is the legendary principal cello of the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra. Following in the footsteps of both father and grandfather, he played for four and a half decades in this orchestra, steeped in tradition. He is known the world over and has appeared with Daniel Barenboim, Mariss Jansons, Simon Rattle, Rudolf Buchbinder and Thomas Hampson amongst others. A penchant for music and literature projects has led to collaborations with Klaus Maria Brandauer, Peter Simonischek and Cornelius Obonya. In 2012 he received the Ring of Honour from the Vienna State Opera and published a book called “Was zählt, ist der Augenblick. Die Bartolomeys – 120 Jahre an der Wiener Staatsoper” (It’s now that matters. The Bartolomeys – 120 years at the Vienna State Opera).

Website Franz Bartolomey »

Herbert Mayr | Double Bass

Herbert Mayr (double bass) has been principal double bass in the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra since 1989. He has also performed with the Austrian Radio Symphony Orchestra, the Vienna Symphony Orchestra, the Bavarian State Symphony in Munich, the Berlin Philharmonic, the Chamber Orchestra of Europe and the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment among others. His talents as chamber musician and soloist extend beyond the world of classical music however; he also lends his fundamental support to the Vienna Theatre Musicians in chanson shows by Michael Heltau and Nicole Beutler.

Alois Posch | Double Bass

Alois Posch (double bass) won a place in the Vienna State Opera Orchestra at the age of eighteen and played for thirty years in the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra, twenty-five of those as principal double bass. Numerous recordings as soloist and chamber musician with such artists as Astor Piazzolla have made him into an internationally known figure. He still teaches in Salzburg and Vienna and is responsible for bringing about a new generation of internationally successful musicians.

Gerald Preinfalk | Clarinets, Saxophones

Gerald Preinfalk (clarinets, saxophones) is one of Austria’s most versatile musicians. He grew up in Upper Austria in the wind band milieu, and after a spell in the classical music scene in Vienna went on to study jazz in Boston and classical saxophone in Paris. Next to his guest appearances with the established Viennese orchestras, he is a member of Klangforum Wien, one of Europe’s leading new music ensembles. As a jazz musician he plays with big bands like the Vienna Art Orchestra, with Roberto Rodriguez (NYC), Peter Madson, Elliot Sharp, Christian Muthspiel, Wolfgang Muthspiel and Georg Breinschmid, as well as pop music with the likes of Willi Resetarits and Maria Bill.

Website Gerald Preinfalk »

Maria Reiter | Accordion

Maria Reiter (accordion) is a subtle magician of sounds on the accordion and discovered her instrument at the age of five. Early influences were the Basque conductor and accordionist Enrique Ugarte and the Munich composer and pianist Rudi Spring. She free-lances with several chamber music groups and accompanied Konstantin Wecker during 1998 and 1999 seasons. Her love of words had led to projects with Senta Berger, Stefan Wilkening, the Figure Puppet Players etc . As a member of the Vienna Theatre Musicians she has been contributing to chanson shows with Michael Heltau and Nicole Beutler for many years already.

Website Maria Reiter »

Eduard Kutrowatz | Piano

Eduard Kutrowatz (piano) is a gifted pianist and regularly appears as a co-performer in Lieder recitals with Angelika Kirchschlager, Juliane Banse, Herbert Lippert and Adrian Eröd. He also performs in a popular piano duo with his brother Johannes Kutrowatz. For more than three decades concerts have taken him to many parts of the globe including America and Japan. In more than ten years of collaboration with Elisabeth Kulman, they have greatly expanded the scope of the conventional song recital. Alongside his composing and teaching commitments at Vienna University, he has, since 2009, co-directed the Liszt Festival in Raiding in Burgenland.

Website Eduard Kutrowatz »

Elisabeth Kulman | Idee, Konzept, Gesang

Elisabeth Kulman (Idee, Konzept, Gesang) ist eine der führenden Sängerinnen und Künstlerpersönlichkeiten unserer Zeit. Kulturell geprägt und ausgebildet in Wien, begeistert sie die internationale Musikwelt mit ihrem kostbaren, farbintensiven Timbre und ihrem charismatischen Auftreten. Zunächst als Sopranistin, später als Mezzo und Alt sang sie fast 20 Jahre lang alle wichtigen Opernpartien ihres Fachs. Ihr künstlerischer Schwerpunkt liegt auf unkonventionellen Projekten abseits des ausgetretenen Pfade des Klassik-Mainstreams. Mit „La femme c‘est moi“ gelingt es ihr, so unterschiedliche Genres wie Klassik, Musical, Chanson, Pop und Jazz auf raffinierte Weise zu vereinen.

Website Elisabeth Kulman »

Tscho Theissing | Arrangements

Tscho Theissing (Arrangements) genießt als Arrangeur einen ausgezeichneten Ruf. Von großen Orchesterprojekten bis hin zu kammermusikalischen Besetzungen trifft er quer durch alle Stilrichtungen von Oper bis Jazz stets den richtigen Ton. So unterschiedliche Künstler wie Michael Heltau, Georg Breinschmid, Avishai Cohen und die Clarinotts vertrauen seinem kompositorischen Ideenreichtum und Raffinement. Im Orchester der Volksoper Wien war er 25 Jahre lang als Vorgeiger tätig, daneben gründete und leitete er die Wiener Theatermusiker. Seiner Leidenschaft für Jazz und Improvisation widmete er sich jahrelang im internationalen Jazzquartett „pago libre“. Nach „Mussorgsky Dis-Covered“ und „Hungaro Tune“ ist „La femme c‘est moi“ seine dritte Zusammenarbeit mit Elisabeth Kulman.

Aliosha Biz | Violine

Aliosha Biz (Violine) gilt weithin als erste Adresse in Sachen Klezmer und Weltmusik. Klassisch ausgebildet in seiner Heimatstadt Moskau, kam der 19jährige Kosmopolit 1989 nach Wien, das zu seinem künstlerischen Mittelpunkt wurde und ihn als „Fiddler on the Roof“ (Anatevka) berühmt machte. Mit seinem einzigartigen Geigenton und seinem humoristischen Talent ist er geschätzter Partner zahlreicher internationaler Musiker wie Krzysztof Dobrek (Dobrek Bistro) und Alegre Corrêa sowie Theatergrößen wie Karl Markovics, Herbert Föttinger und Maria Bill.

Website Aliosha Biz »

Clara Schwaiger | Viola

Clara Schwaiger (Viola) sammelte bereits umfangreiche kammermusikalische Erfahrungen mit Künstlern wie Emmanuel Tjeknavorian, Christian Altenburger, Ernst Kovacic, Christoph und Florian Eggner, Reinhard Latzko, Patrick Demenga sowie zahlreichen Mitgliedern der Wiener Philharmoniker. In Orchestern wie den Wiener Philharmonikern, der Wiener Staatsoper und den Wiener Symphonikern ist sie regelmäßiger Gast und bespielt somit Bühnen im Inland und auf der ganzen Welt. Ihr Wissen und Können gibt sie seit 2015 an junge Studierende der Universität für Musik und darstellende Kunst Wien weiter, wo sie eine Violaklasse leitet.

Franz Bartolomey | Cello

Franz Bartolomey (Cello) ist als Erster Solocellist der Wiener Philharmoniker eine Legende. Den Spuren seines Großvaters und Vaters folgend, spielte er viereinhalb Jahrzente in diesem traditionsreichen Orchester. Weltweit wirkt er als Solist und Kammermusiker u.a. mit Daniel Barenboim, Mariss Jansons, Simon Rattle, Rudolf Buchbinder und Thomas Hampson. Einzigartige Musik-Literatur-Projekte konzipiert er mit Klaus Maria Brandauer, Peter Simonischek und Cornelius Obonya. 2012 wurde ihm der Ehrenring der Wiener Staatsoper verliehen, und es erschien sein Buch „Was zählt, ist der Augenblick. Die Bartolomeys – 120 Jahre an der Wiener Staatsoper“.

Website Franz Bartolomey »

Herbert Mayr | Kontrabass

Herbert Mayr (Kontrabass) ist seit 1989 Erster Solokontrabassist der Wiener Philharmoniker. Breite Orchestererfahrung sammelte er auch beim ORF-Sinfonieorchester, den Wiener Symphonikern, dem Bayerischen Staatsorchester München, den Berliner Philharmonikern, dem Chamber Orchestra of Europe, dem Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment u.a. Als Kammermusikpartner und Solist ist er nicht nur in klassichen Konzerten geschätzt, sondern verleiht auch als Mitglied der Wiener Theatermusiker den Chansonabenden von Michael Heltau und Nicole Beutler das nötige starke Fundament.

Alois Posch | Kontrabass

Alois Posch (Kontrabass) gewann bereits mit 18 Jahren das Probespiel im Orchester der Wiener Staatsoper und wirkte 30 Jahre lang bei den Wiener Philharmonikern, 25 Jahre davon als Erster Solokontrabassist. Zahlreiche CD-Einspielungen mit renommierten Künstlern wie Astor Piazzolla dokumentieren seine kammermusikalischen und solistischen Auftritte weltweit. Seine weithin gerühmte Unterrichtstätigkeit an den Musikuniversitäten in Salzburg und Wien, der er bis heute mit Hingabe nachgeht, hat eine neue Generation international erfolgreicher Musiker hervorgebracht.

Gerald Preinfalk | Klarinetten, Saxophone

Gerald Preinfalk (Klarinetten, Saxophone) zählt zu Österreichs vielseitigsten Virtuosen. Aufgewachsen mit oberösterreichischer Blasmusik und sozialisiert in der Wiener Klassikszene, erhielt er seine Ausbildung in Boston/USA (Jazz) und Paris (klassisch französisches Saxophon). Neben Gastauftritten bei den großen Wiener Orchestern ist er Mitglied des Klangforum Wien, einem der renommiertesten Neue-Musik-Ensembles. Als Jazzmusiker spielt er in Big Bands wie dem Vienna Art Orchestra sowie mit Roberto Rodriguez (NYC), Peter Madson, Elliot Sharp, Christian Muthspiel, Wolfgang Muthspiel, Georg Breinschmid, aber auch mit Popmusikern wie Willi Resetarits und Maria Bill.

Website Gerald Preinfalk »

Maria Reiter | Akkordeon

Maria Reiter (Akkordeon) ist eine feinsinnige Klangmagierin auf ihrem Instrument, das sie bereits mit fünf Jahren für sich entdeckte. Geprägt wurde die Oberbayerin vom baskischen Akkordeonisten und Dirigenten Enrique Ugarte und vom Münchner Komponisten und Pianisten Rudi Spring. Als freischaffende Musikerin ist sie in verschiedenen Kammermusik-Formationen tätig, war 1998/99 ständige Begleiterin von Konstantin Wecker und bringt in literarisch-musikalischen Projekten mit Senta Berger, Stefan Wilkening, dem Figurentheater Puppet Players u.a. ihre Liebe zur Sprache zum Ausdruck. Als Mitglied der Wiener Theatermusiker bereichert sie seit vielen Jahren die Chansonabende von Michael Heltau und Nicole Beutler.

Website Maria Reiter »

Eduard Kutrowatz | Klavier

Eduard Kutrowatz (Klavier) ist als Klavierpartner von Liedsängern wie Angelika Kirchschlager, Juliane Banse, Herbert Lippert und Adrian Eröd ebenso gefragt wie im Klavierduo mit seinem Bruder Johannes Kutrowatz. Seit mehr als drei Jahrzehnten ist er auf den internationalen Bühnen von Amerika bis Japan erfolgreich tätig. In der über zehnjährigen Zusammenarbeit mit Elisabeth Kulman loten die beiden mit außergewöhnlichen Konzepten die Grenzen des konventionellen Liederabends aus. Neben seiner kompositorischen und pädagogischen Tätigkeit an der Musikuniversität Wien leitet er als Intendant (gemeinsam mit seinem Bruder) seit 2009 das Liszt Festival Raiding (Burgenland/Österreich).

Website Eduard Kutrowatz »